AFRICAN SAFARI TRAVEL REVIEWS 2007 - PAGE 2

PAST CLIENT FEEDBACK - YEAR 2007, page 2 | < previous

Feedback from Clients on their African safaris and vacations between August and December, 2007


"Our stay at the Cape Victoria was exceptional & would thoroughly recommend it to any friends who intend visiting Cape Town. Lily is a unique lady & is very willing to make stays in Cape Town as memorable as possible."
Liz Hemmings, UK
(travel dates: August 2007)

"We got back from Africa and I wanted to say that we absolutely loved the Chobe Safari Lodge. The rooms were amazing and the safari was everything we hoped for. I really liked this location because it had both water and land safari tours. This allowed you to get closer to different animals at different times.

We saw so much and we loved it. Also, the food was excellent. We could not have had a better trip. Now I have to sort through the 1000 pictures we took!"
Jeff and Sandy Fitzpatrick, USA
(travel dates: August 2007)

"In short, the trip was nothing less than enchanting. We had a wonderful time and are already itching to plan another trip to South Africa that potentially includes a safari in Botswana.

Since I know that vendor-specific feedback is helpful to you, I've summarized our experiences with the various vendors below. We didn't have complaints about any of them, and we thought that they were all fantastic!

We arrived at the The 12 Apostles very early on Sunday morning, and we were aware that there was a possibility that our room would not be ready but were really hoping that it would be (since we were exhausted!). It was not ready, but the staff was so kind and accommodating -- they allowed us to use another one of their rooms to clean up and rest until our room was ready. This was extremely helpful and seems like it's indicative of the service and the staff at the hotel; they do whatever they can to ensure that their guests are comfortable and happy. They made dinner reservations for us and arranged transportation for us to and from our dinners during the evenings. Our room was gorgeous! It was very large with a view of the water. We also looked forward to the wonderful breakfast every morning. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel-- I will definitely recommend it to anyone who travels to Cape Town who wants a luxurious experience in a gorgeous setting.

Le Franschhoek Hotel was lovely.

Our experience at Vuyatela was definitely the most memorable. For a first time safari, the trip was ideal. The staff at the lodge provided excellent service and were also just very nice people. We were impressed because Djuma appeared to be a very well-run organization that cared a lot about its employees and the surrounding communities. Our ranger and tracker were outstanding, and we were able to see a lot in the time that we were there. We really enjoyed the relaxing setting and thought that it was nice that there were open areas where you could socialize with other guests or just relax and read a book on your own. The food was very rich, and they certainly ensure that the guests eat often, but that's nothing to complain about when you're on vacation!

Cape Heritage Hotel is such a cool place! We loved the downtown setting (especially since it seemed familiar to us because we'd started our trip in Cape Town and spent some time walking around the downtown area). The staff was very nice and helpful, and even though we were only there one night (and we got there late), they brought us a bottle of champagne for our honeymoon. When we return to Cape Town, we'll definitely stay at the Cape Heritage because of it's ideal location and it's wonderful service. We loved the city feel of it.

Additionally, all of our transfers (airport to hotel, hotel to airport) worked out just fine.

Thank you again for all of your help. Emmett and I are actively recommending South Africa as a vacation and honeymoon destination for all of our friends here in the States and have told all of them about our fabulous travel agent at Greenlife e-gnu.com. If any of our friends decide to make the trip, they will certainly book through you."
Franklin & Elizabeth Weindruch, USA
(travel dates: August 2007)

"We arrived home from South Africa yesterday, after a tremendous two and a half weeks stay in which we had so many wonderful experiences. Our stay at Djuma has to rank as something truly exceptional.

Thank you so much for arranging it. We usually like to arrange as much as our holiday as possible – this is almost as pleasurable as the holiday itself, for us - but since it was our first visit to South Africa, we felt that we needed a little help in planning things. Your advice, professionalism and prompt responses to our queries were much appreciated.

Our stay at Djuma exceeded all expectations. The quality of the game viewing was excellent. Chris, our guide and Abel, our tracker were just so knowledgeable and we were treated to some spectacular views of the Big Five up close, an exciting night-time stalk by lionesses of a young leopard who had strayed too close to their territory and rare viewing of two cheetahs basking in the evening sun atop a huge ant hill.

The welcome and accommodation at Djuma were first class – we couldn’t fault any aspect of our stay. Our ‘hut’’ was clean and well appointed with evertything we needed for a comfortable stay – not that we needed much given that our stay was so busy with two game draves, a walking safari and a visit to the local village (this latter really demonstrating the close link between the lodge and the local community), as well as all the eating to do!! We really did feel special but also tremendously privileged to be allowed into this special environment. In fact we left regretting that we hadn’t booked longer than the three nights there.

Thanks once again for your help, and should we take our plans further, we will certainly be in touch to see how you can help."

John and Ceris Evans, UK
(travel dates: August 2007)

"The trip was excellent and all went according to plan.

Savute Elephant Camp was first class as was the refurbished Little Vumbura. All went well at Vic Falls and Chobe. All flights and transfers worked well. The game viewing was terrific although still no wild dog - will just have to go back again for this until I do see them!!"
Karen McCaffery and Noel Robey, AUSTRALIA
(travel dates: August/September 2007)

"Your service was impeccable. Throughout all of our Africa experience, everything transpired just as planned. The Intercontinental Airport Sun at Johannesburg airport was the finest airport hotel we have stayed in. The room, the food and the service were all excellent and it’s walking distance to the terminal!

Camp Jabulani on the Kapama Game Reserve is a very special place. If there were a 6th star, Jabulani would earn that easily. We had a private guide during our entire stay. Never more than 2 others in our open 4x4 and sometimes just us. Our first sighting of a majestic giraffe slowly and gracefully crossing the road in front of us was one of the most moving moments. We took 3 fantastic elephant back rides – one at night when we heard lions roar in the distance of the starlight night with a gentle warm breeze and a spectacular Milky Way overhead! All this on top of an elephant! We went on a bush walk and took numerous early morning, daytime and night safari rides. We saw 4 of the “Big 5” in the wild ... lion, rhino, buffalo and elephant. One of the lions (my favorite) was a spectacular full-grown black mane male – rare in South Africa.

Jabulani has a first class chef and all meals were beyond great. Our private bungalow deep in the bush was absolutely beautiful with its nice deck and plunge pool – complete with monkey visitors! You can see our safari pics here."
Rick Johnston and Sam Fair, USA
(travel dates: August/September 2007)

"I had the most marvellous time in Hilltop Camp. I saw lots of Elephants one that was not too pleased to see us!!

I was so happy in the camp. The staff were all wonderful and the 3 drives I took were directed by very knowledgeable rangers. I learnt so much about the animals and their habits. They were very patient and even provided a drink for us during each outing."
Pat Chase, UK
(travel dates: September 2007)

"Ant's Nest was a real highlight - (Seba)Stian got us all riding so we could get close to the game, of which there was plenty every time (giraffe, zebra, impala, rhino and warthogs). Rooms were large and clean, activities were varied (game viewing, rifle shooting, riding, driving the jeep for our son (aged 12) and the sundowners and open fire in the lodge made for a good atmosphere.

The hosts Stian, Peter and Helen were warm, genuine and friendly and were very flexible in meeting our wishes all the time e.g. the timing of our game drives. We were waited on hand and foot.

We can recommend the lodge to those looking for genuine service without fawning and officiousness and where the relationship is host/guest - it is the ideal family option."
John Foldes and Family, UK
(travel dates: September/October 2007)

"The trip was fantastic. Overall, it exceeded expectations -- the places we stayed were amazing, the ataff were well informed, professional and accommodating and the food was excellent.

Although it's difficult to whittle it down, I would say my top three favourite things were: * Chief's Camp - fantastic food, excellent guides, beautiful room * The service at Stanley Safari Lodge in Zambia * The stunning beach in Bazaruto

Particular mention should probably also go to the guys who picked up for our transfers in Jburg. They knew loads about South African politics and we had a really interesting time with them driving to and from the hotel.

The staff at Bazaruto Lodge were also lovely -- they did their best to help me hunt down antihistamines from the mainland when I needed them."
Saul Thomas and Jillian Ong, UK
(travel dates: Honeymoon September 2007)

"We have had the best time on our trip and Gunn's Camp was delightful and just right for us, not busy , very friendly and relaxing after bouncing along Botswana roads!! Will send you photos in due course.

Thank you for your help, you have been most effecient."
Bullock Family, AUSTRALIA, UK and RUSSIA
(travel dates: October 2007)

"Game viewing was great and kayaking with 130 whales in Walker Bay was awesome. Will select some photos (haven’t seen them myself properly yet). We loved it – particularly Tena Tena and Walden House in Cape Town."
Mark Page and Jennifer Prager, UK
(travel dates: October 2007)

"We loved the Savute Safari Lodge! The staff at the lodge provided excellent service, and they were very friendly at all times. Game viewing was superb... We saw lions, leopards and elephants in just a few hours! Thank you so much for your help."
Hélčne Petit & Guy Petiteau, France
(travel dates: September 2007)

"The trip through Botswana was fantastic, including the short stay at Delta lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed Delta Camp with its very friendly staff. They gave us the "tree house", which is a great experience in itself! We will never forget the delicious food. Last but not least, the friendliness, helpfulness, competence and knowledge of the guide, who took us on the walks was unbeatable.

We thank every single staff member of Delta Camp for letting us have a wonderful time!

Should friends of ours want to visit the Okavango delta, we will certainly recommend your company."
Christof Mueller & Isabelle Duvoisin, Switzerland
(travel dates: October 2007)

"The trip was fantastic! Everything was even better than we expected. We have especially high praise for Elephant Plains Game Lodge. The villa, the staff, the location and most of all the animal viewing was excellent.

We loved Franschoek as well. It is really beautiful place and the wines were delicious. The Protea Hotel Franschhoek was very nice as well.

We can’t wait to come back to South Africa! Thanks were everything you did for us, it was a great trip and we have lots of wonderful memories."
Bob & Molly Bartikoski, USA
(travel dates: November 2007)

"Thank you for your good care. We had a splendid stay in SA. We went to a school project in Ivory Park and to the Apartheid Museum in Johannesburg. Both were very impressive. The Michelangelo Hotel is excellent.

The Savanna Tented Safari Lodge has beaten all our expectations. A really wonderful experience which I would recommend to everybody I know
Wouter Koetzier & Mariska Werlich, Netherlands
(travel dates: November 2007)

"We would like to thank you for arranging a great trip for us to South Africa, all went really well. Primi Royal in Camps Bay is very nice hotel in a great location. In Franschoek we went to Haut Cabriere for champagne tasting and it was lots of fun!

We loved Hermanus, both the Protea Hotel Franschhoek & seeing the whales. Hog Hollow Country Lodge was another good hotel. There are fantastic beaches & crashing waves in area north of Plettenberg. Nguni River Lodge was just fantastic!
Ric & Dianne Piper, ???????
(travel dates: November 2007)

"We would like to thank you for arranging a great trip for us to South Africa, all went really well. Primi Royal in Camps Bay is very nice hotel in a great location. In Franschoek we went to Haut Cabriere for champagne tasting and it was lots of fun!

We loved Hermanus, both the Protea Hotel Franschhoek & seeing the whales. Hog Hollow Country Lodge was another good hotel. There are fantastic beaches & crashing waves in area north of Plettenberg. Nguni River Lodge was just fantastic!
Ric & Dianne Piper, UK
(travel dates: November 2007)

"We had a wonderful and wild trip through Botswana - a lot of animals, beautiful landscape and challenging off-road driving and navigation.

Chobe Chilwero was the perfect place to finalize the trip, get rid of the dust and get used to civilization again. The lodge is one of the best we have ever been to. The people there are extremely caring, the cottages were nice and the food was brilliant. As always - the lodge management makes the difference and you can tell that the lodge manager (Patrick from Zimbabwe) is in absolute control of the quality level in this place.

As we were extremely happy with your perfect service and the personal touch at Greenlife you can be sure we will enquire through you again.
Eva Degenhart & Martin Hinteregger, Austria
(travel dates: November 2007)

"The staff at Chichele Presidential Lodge should all be commended for the first class service they provided. John, our daily Guide, has incredible knowledge of the wildlife and nature of not only South Luangwa but the rest of Zambia also.

We thought we did rather well with our sighting of 100 bird species, 15 mammals and 4 reptiles, including first time sightings in each group, but a lasting memory will be the female leopard stalking, lunging and then bringing down an impala fawn before our very eyes. It was sad and marvelous in the same breath.

Given the opportunity, we would love to return to Chichele Presidential Lodge and would certainly (and have already) recommend a stay there to our friends and others. Once again, MANY THANKS for all of your help in organizing our Christmas holiday at Chichele.
Nik Sekhran & Christine Lippai, UK
(travel dates: December 2007)


back to top ^ | < previous | > next


Should you wish to communicate directly with a past client in your area, your consultant will provide a list of names to bona fide requests. Please address requests in this regard to your
designated consultant only.

Do you want the same sort of professional service and dedication?
Use the REQUEST FORM to mail our Consulting Manager now.

COMPANY: Contact Benefits About Us Booking Offices Past Clients Pre-Tour Info Terms Privacy Disclaimer Copyright WANT TO TRAVEL? Safari Enquiry TRAVEL SEARCH: HOTELS & LODGES SAFARIS & TOURS SPECIAL DEALS SAFARI SUITCASE SAMPLE TRIPS CAR HIRE RESEARCH & INFO: TOP DESTINATIONS ALL DESTINATIONS

SAFARI INFO


• Flight Information
• Baggage Allowances
• Visas
• Hotels and Accommodation establishments
• Health desk
• Insurance
• Money and Foreign exchange
• Tipping
• Photography
• Wildlife
• Safari Clothing Checklist
• Safari Reading
• African Tree Checklist
• African Birds Checklist
• African Wildlife Checklist